Lost Lake.

We’ve spent pretty much every day over the past three weeks looking for a place to live and applying for jobs.  More on that soon, but yesterday we happened to find ourselves with an afternoon free, and I really needed to clear my head, plus it wasn’t raining, so we decided to walk to Lost Lake.
Note: I know the rain is needed if we want snow, but I don’t have suitable footwear yet, so it’s a bit of a pain to constantly have wet feetI was very happy that the rain held off yesterday; I needed the break.

The walk was beautiful.  From Whistler village, it took us about twenty minutes to get there.  Well, maybe thirty if you factor in our inevitable walking in the wrong direction at the start.

The walk to get there was as good as the actual lake.

I’m not sure why it is called Lost Lake, but I found out (thanks to the ever-reliable Wikipedia) that before the hotel developments sprung up, Lost Lake beach was once a popular nude sunbathing spot.

There was no flesh on show yesterday; it was pretty chilly.


“It is difficult to find happiness within oneself, but it is impossible to find it anywhere else.”
I love quotes on benches, I always stop to look at every single one.  I always think “oh I’ll remember that one, it’s my favourite”, and then ten minutes later I can’t recall it at all.  I like this one, even though at first it seems somewhat cynical.  I like to think it means we should look for happiness within ourselves; only then can we begin to find happiness in anyone or anything else.I’ve had a rough couple of days, and my most natural instinct is to be disheartened and feel sorry for myself.  But really, I know that isn’t going to help me, or make me feel any better.  I’ve got to look at the bigger picture: I’m here, I’m in Canada after a year of planning and saving.  It was my choice to give up my job and move to a different continent.  I had the means to do that, I had the opportunity and I had the desire.  Why should I be miserable?
I’ve got to find happiness in what I’ve got, instead of dwelling upon what I haven’t got.
Because the truth is, I have so much.

So, so much.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Lost Lake.

  1. Pamela says:

    Wonderful pictures Naomi. Great commentary too! What a diary!

  2. […] Jay at Lost Lake; we went back again after our first trip. […]

Leave a Reply

