Thanksgiving.

Our first experience of Thanksgiving was excellent.  Even though we’d never had one before, I can’t imagine it being any better.
Over twenty of us staying in this hostel chipped in $10 each, and we cooked a huge dinner.  Turkey, ham, mashed potatoes, sprouts, carrots, roast potatoes, bacon, gravy; the works.  We also had a few Spanish omelettes, made by these lovely smiley Spanish travellers:

Although none of us knew each other before coming to stay at the hostel, it felt like a real family affair.  Everyone pitched in to prepare food, cook, stir, dish out, wash up.  Most of us are here on working visas, and our common goal of finding a place to live and a job, has bonded us quickly.

 

After dinner, we had pumpkin pie and eggnog, neither of which I had tried before, but both of which I will have again (and again, and again).

And at some point between trying not to eat everything on my plate at once, and talking to the Australian guy on my left and the French guy across from me, Blake, who orchestrated the whole thing, stood up and reminded us all that Thanksgiving is all about being intentionally thankful and that to make this a proper Thanksgiving, we had to go around the table and say what we were thankful for.  I think this was my favourite part (Baileys eggnog was a close second).

People’s ‘thankfuls’ ranged from “I’m thankful I checked into the hostel today and not tomorrow, otherwise I wouldn’t have got this dinner!” to “I’m thankful to have met every single one of you; you guys already feel like family.”
I was one of the last to speak, and I had a hundred things in my head that I could have said.  I am thankful for so much in my life; I am incredibly blessed and I never want to take any of that for granted.  So I kept it simple, and relevant.
“I am thankful for what I hope will be the most memorable year of all of our lives.”

Every single day I have something to be thankful for, but it was good to have this occasion to really think about everything I have, and to share that with other people.

I am thankful.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

