Overnight Oats

I’ve been seeing Overnight Oats all over Pinterest, and really wanted to give it a go.
Problem is, it’s always American bloggers explaining how they do it, so I had no idea what ‘steel cut oats’ were (Wikipedia cleared that one up for me).  I also don’t have any ‘small mouth Mason jars’, so unfortunately mine doesn’t look as nice as the ones flying around the Internet.  I’m sure the finished product tastes just the same (actually, I’m not sure if that’s true, I reckon eating it from a Mason jar would definitely make it taste better).

Here’s what to do.  Measure 30g of oats (or porridge as it’s known here), add milk as you normally would, then add a tablespoon of natural yogurt and a teaspoon (or two) of honey.  Mix them all together, seal up your container, and stick it in the fridge.  Leave it overnight, so when you wake up in the morning your breakfast is already made. Easy peasy.

So, you’re thinking that cold porridge sounds disgusting.  And I can see why you’d think that (because I thought it too).  But it’s really not.  It is nothing like ordinary, hot porridge.  Because it is left to soak up the liquid on its own, it is really smooth and creamy, and the coolness complements that very well.

Add whatever toppings you like.  Apparently peanut butter is great, but not so healthy.  In fact, I’ve seen one or two ‘recipes’ where people make the porridge in an almost-empty peanut butter jar.  That, my friends, is clever.

I added Craisins, which were delicious.  Strawberries, raspberries, banana, blueberries, jam, honey, syrup, granola, whatever you want, it will go well with it.

Healthy and tasty, but more importantly, ready and waiting for you in the morning :)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Overnight Oats

  1. PamPam says:

    Will def try this Joyjoy.
    However the strain of the degree is telling as your porridge is reading. Now that IS clever :)

Leave a Reply

