Heat pack [DIY]

I have a very quick and easy tutorial for you today.
Since making one of these, and realising how simple it is to make them, I am kicking myself for ever spending money on buying one.  I believe I spent nearly £20 on one of these for someone a few months ago.  This cost me about £2 to make.

1.  Start by deciding what size you’d like to make it.  Mine is far too big (64cm by 20cm), so next time I make one it will be considerably smaller.  This size is fine for laying across your abdomen, but if I needed it for a sore neck it wouldn’t sit very comfortably.  Cut two pieces to your desired size.

2. Sew right sides together, leaving an opening on one of the short sides.

3. Clip your corners, trim any excess, and then turn it out the right way through the gap.

4.  Fill about half way with rice (or lentils).

5.  Next you need to sew three separations to stop the rice from staying at one end of the heat pack.  So, decide where the middle is, and split the rice evenly on either side.  Then sew a line straight across.  You may want to repeat this twice again so you have four even compartments.

All done.  See, I told you it was easy.
To heat it up, stick it in the microwave for about three minutes.  Placing half a mug of water in the microwave can help heat it up (I learned that from the instructions with the £20 heat pack), but I’m not sure how that would work with the rice.  Last thing you want is a cooked and mushy heat pack.  Apparently these are also great for headaches if you keep them in the freezer.  I’m yet to try that one, as my freezer is full of sorbet and most of Asda’s reduced price section.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Heat pack [DIY]

  1. modej'adore says:

    WOW! Awesome tip…..this would save me alot of cash!!! thank youuuuu ^_^

  2. JayJay says:

    I think this is brill-o.

Leave a Reply

