Advent.

Wow, time is moving so quickly.  How can it be 6th December already?
Are you doing anything for Advent?  I mean, not just opening a calendar every day for a miniscule piece of chocolate?
I decided to try and do something nice for someone else each day of Advent.  It doesn’t have to be anything massive, just a simple gesture.
One day I sent cards to my mum, dad and sister:

(Silly, yep, that’s my family all over)

Another day I ordered a book to be sent to my friend.  I had just read it for uni and thought she’d like it.
Other days I am so snowed under with essays and reading that I don’t have time to do much more than send a nice text to a friend, or email a Christmas song to my brother.
I plan to bake and sew some things for people too, just once I get a little bit more time.

This doesn’t have to be an expensive thing (which is good, because I have no money…) ; it’s just my way of steering away from the materialism and tackiness that is thrown at us this time of year.  Sure, it’d be nice to be able to send a Starbucks gift card to my best friend so she could treat herself to a gingerbread latte, or to buy a Christmas CD for my sister to help her keep smiling while she’s driving to work in the cold mornings.  Right now I can’t do these things, hopefully one day I will be able to, but for now it forces me to be a bit more creative, and to keep things simple.
There’s nothing wrong with simple.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Advent.

  1. PamPam says:

    Such a thoughtful girl Joyjoy. We love you!

  2. arp says:

    I can testify to Nomi’s kindness.

    Although she spent money on me – so clearly she likes me more than the rest of you.

    xx

Leave a Reply

