I need your help.

Remember I made this maxi dress?
Well, I changed it.  It used to look like this –

And now it looks like this –


[Excuse the shoes and heavy tights; this was taken in Paris and I forgot to pack matching clothing, haha]
I shortened it (and hemmed it, first time ever!), sewed up the back (in the maxi version the back was identical to the front neckline, just a V shape) to make it sit better, and changed the neckline.

I love the dress this way :)
However, I got a bit scissor-happy and took too much off the neckline. It looks okay in this photo, but that is because I had fixed it two seconds previously. When I actually wear it, it falls down and my bra becomes visible.
So, now I’m not sure what to do.  I thought about adding some lace to the neckline, but the fabric itself is quite ‘busy’, and I thought that might take it overboard.  I’m not really a fan of the whole wearing a t-shirt under dresses or tops, so that’s out too I’m afraid.

Any ideas?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “I need your help.

  1. AJ says:

    I think it looks much cuter like that! Love it :) What type of material did you use and how did you do the pleats right by the waist?

    • Naomi says:

      Thanks AJ :)
      The material I used is a very light but good quality cotton that I got from my local market.
      There are no proper pleats in the waist, I think they are sitting like that because of two ‘tucks’ I sewed on the bust, and just because of how the belt is pulling the material in.

  2. Katy says:

    Looks super cute that way too! Hmm yeah I would say lace or a matching navy trim. Or maybe just try getting some of that fashion tape that holds everything in place?

  3. Rachel says:

    If lace is too fancy but you need more coverage up front you could just add a strip of white, or some other solid that matches a color in the pattern. If you think it would look too strange just there (along the bottom of the neckline) you could also add a smaller strip to eachof the sleeves as a cuff. By the way, fabric glue is the easiest way to do this, since you can position and glue while you have the dress on, then sew later if you want. The fabric glue I use is washable even, great for even expert seamstresses

Leave a Reply

