Thailand [1]

You know my brother Joel? Well, of course you don’t, but you may remember my post about his leaving party a year ago. In this post, I mentioned that I was unlikely to get to go and visit him while he was away on the Logos Hope ship for two years.  Well, thanks to an unexpected tax rebate, I was able to join my mum and sister in going to visit him in Thailand. Due to some complications, we weren’t able to see him as early as we’d hoped, and so you won’t see any photos of him until I’m well through posting them all chronologically.
It was amazing.  Such a beautiful country that has recovered remarkably well from the tsunami in 2004.  The people are so friendly; I really mean that. I know that is said that a lot about people from other countries, but the Thai people were so welcoming and kind to us, and very tolerant of our Thai vocabulary (I can say two words… “hello” and “thank you”. Shameful when most of them have fluent English).

It would take me a year to share all of the photos I took, so I’ll just share a fraction of them in chunks over the next while.


Who wouldn’t want this as their local Post Office?


We ordered take-away one night. I say ‘we’, but I mean ‘Suzie’. We have no idea what food we ate that night… but it definitely wasn’t what we ordered!

A chilling reminder – read closely.

It’s going to take ages to get through all these photos….

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Thailand [1]

  1. Jessie says:

    Hello! Found your blog with my handy “Logos Hope” Google word tracker – I’m here working on the ship with your brother! :-) I enjoyed your pictures and your blog – I’m the DIY sort too, so it’s right down my alley!

    • Naomi says:

      Hi Jessie, thanks for your comment. Very cool that you found my wee blog through Google tracker.
      Hopefully I will have more DIY things up soon!
      Say hi to my brother :) xx

Leave a Reply

