I finally have my sewing machine.

When I first moved to uni, I didn’t bring my sewing machine, a decision I soon regretted.  It’s been sitting at my parents’ house gathering dust for the last two years… until now.  I finally have it with me in Leicester, and I’ve been getting right back into sewing.

I’m going to Thailand on Sunday and I really wanted to make some clothes to take with me, but I was too scared to buy tons of fabric and ruin it, because I am not an expert seamstress (at all). Then I found Katy’s fantastic blog, and decided to give it a go.  I tried making a super easy skirt, and it came out well, but it’s too heavy for Thailand (and I haven’t got any decent photos of it yet, haha).

So, I give you my first dress, made using this tutorial

Instead of stretch knit as the tutorial uses, I used a very light cotton that I got for £6.99 (I think) at Leicester Market.  I love how it is modest enough for a country that doesn’t appreciate a lot of flesh on show, yet it’s light and loose enough for the heat.  Oh the heat, it is going to kill me. I can actually pull the dress down a bit more at the front so I’ve got a bit more breathing room.

Just ignore the fact that I have no makeup on please :)

I’m pretty pleased with my first attempt at making a dress.  The two maxi dresses I bought to take on holiday cost about £30-£40 each, so I’m pretty pleased that this only cost £7!
What do you think?

P.S. I love my yellow belt, scored it for £2.99 in a charity shop!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “I finally have my sewing machine.

  1. Katy says:

    I love the fabric you chose. And that fantastic yellow belt. You did an awesome job. It will be perfect for Thailand! Thanks so much for sharing this with me!

  2. […] with the maxi dress, this skirt was so unbelievably easy to make.  If you’re a beginner, I’d really […]

  3. […] I made this maxi dress? Well, I changed it.  It used to look like this […]

  4. It looks beautiful! Did you modify the tutorial to make it work with cotton?

  5. ritapavota says:

    I know this is an old post but I saw the tutorial too and I’m not sure if you are supposed to hem the neckline and the arma or you just cut it out and leave it like it is. Could you help me with this? Thank you!

    • Naomi says:

      Hi there. Yes it’s a good idea to hem them. I didn’t because I was lazy, and really it depends on what material you use, I used cotton and it should be hemmed. Jersey fabric would be fine to leave raw. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

