Lent.

I have never given anything up for Lent before.
This was for no reason other than I just couldn’t be bothered to give up anything I liked.  (I resisted the urge to lie and say “if I wanted to give something up I’d do it any time of year, I don’t need a stupid tradition to make me do it”, but we’ve all heard enough of that from people on Facebook, right?)

This year I am giving up meat.  That’s right, I’m going vegetarian for 46 days.
Reasons:
1. I fancied a challenge
2. Meat is expensive
3. Vegetarian recipes are amazing

This is day two and I am happy as a clam (a little alive clam, of course).
I forgot to take photos of my food the past two days, but yesterday for dinner I had Thai Red Squash Curry, and tonight’s was stir fry.  Both very yum.

Here are some recipes I am really looking forward to trying:
[click photo to see the recipe]

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

[I’ve made this Tomato Tarte Tatin about five times and it is amazing, especially if you sneak some goats cheese in with the tomatoes]

Are you giving anything up for Lent?  Or are you doing anything alternative?

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Lent.

  1. Best of luck with your vegetarian goals…I think that’s great!

Leave a Reply

