What are you reading?

I am currently reading two books at once, both I am not enjoying but both must be read.
I am a little (a lot) behind with my reading for my module ‘Single Author Study’ (the author being H. G. Wells).
This is mainly because I have a lot of other work to do for my course, but also because these two books aren’t novels, they are something like a long long essay mixed with a fictional discussion type thing.

The first one is ‘A Modern Utopia’…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
This book is so disappointing; I really felt it had so much potential, the whole concept is fascinating, but it just dies a horrible literary death.  If you’ve ever read Sir Thomas More’s ‘Utopia’, Wells’ version will be a big let down.

The second book is ‘The Shape of Things To Come’…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
I can’t say too much about this book because I haven’t read enough of it yet, but it appears to be going the same way as the previous one.  There’s no dialogue in it (which is funny because in the other half of my degree I am learning about the importance of dialogue in writing), which makes it incredibly tedious to wade through.

I miss reading books out of choice, not for a module at uni.

What are you reading at the moment?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “What are you reading?

  1. I am reading The Brothers Karamozov. I love it. It is a good depiction of the internal conflict someone can have with good and evil.

  2. comettrail says:

    I’m also reading a few titles at once, some for research, some for enjoyment. The research stuff is the history and literature of the Restoration. I really like the women in Behn’s The Rover. it’s interesting how they use the marriage marketplace to their advantage and how patriarchal figures are pretty much absent and powerless during the play.

    Stephen King’s IT: read it when I was a kid and doubted it could still be scary as an adult…I was wrong lol. You definitely don’t want to read this before bed.

    • Naomi says:

      I just got home from a class where we studied Behn’s ‘The Disappointment’. The module is ‘Medieval to Augustan Literature’, so we look at the Restoration a lot.

      • comettrail says:

        that’s a funny poem. she totally humiliates Lysander. it must’ve taken courage to write like that back then, way before feminism.

Leave a Reply

