Bruschetta (Recipe DIY)

Have you seen Julie & Julia?  If not, you need to.
It has so many amazing dishes in it.
One of my favourites (apart from the Bouef Bourginonne) is the very understated bruschetta.  It hardly even gets air time, but every time I see it I want to make it.
So, last night I just went for it, and they turned out better than I hoped, so I made more today.

I’m sure this is completely wrong, and probably can’t even be called bruschetta, but it tasted pretty beaut, so here’s how I made mine…

1.  Cut up a French stick/baguette into slices.  I believe bruschetta made as an appetiser should have the bread very thinly sliced, but I was making this as a small meal, so made the slices more like chunks.  Put the slices on a baking tray and put them in a medium-hot oven for about 15 minutes, turning half way through.

2.  Dice up some plum tomatoes (baby ones are really good)

3.  In a bowl, mix the tomatoes with salt, pepper, olive oil and basil.  I’m sure fresh basil leaves chopped up would be good, but remember I’m a poor student, so I used dried basil.

4.  When the bread is done, let it cool slightly.  Cut open a garlic clove and rub the topside of each bread slice with it.

5.  Divide the tomato mixture between the bread slices.

6.  Plate up and enjoy!


Note: it is pretty messy to eat, so napkins are a good idea :)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Bruschetta (Recipe DIY)

  1. J-J says:

    It was delicious! :D

Leave a Reply

