Scrabble tile push-pins (DIY)

Disclaimer: No board games or components were harmed in this craft.

I love words, I love letters and I really love Scrabble.
I also love stationery.
Put them together and what do you get?  Awesome push pins like these…

Step 1: Buy Scrabble tiles off eBay. [Please do not destroy a perfectly good Scrabble set, this is like blasphemy, or something.]

Step 2: Gather together push pins and a hot glue gun.

Step 3: Glue the pins to the back of the tiles…

Step 4: Make a million of them and give them to all your friends so they can spell out their names and pin stuff up.

I am such a nerd.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

90 thoughts on “Scrabble tile push-pins (DIY)

  1. bombintime says:

    haha love it.

  2. PamPam says:

    So lovely joyjoy. They remind me, we haven’t had online scrabble for quite a while. I guess it would be difficult tho with no internet connection just now :) That should really be :(

  3. lrhart says:

    Ha! How creative! I love it!

  4. this is most excellent! Christmas gifts in the making!!!

  5. jenkline75 says:

    I am a scrabble lover also and LOVE this idea! Thanks for sharing and congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

  6. Maggie says:

    Awesome!

  7. AgentVal says:

    What a great idea! I love it. Now I’m thinking… cork board, theme of the week, my love and I taking turns adding a word… winner with the most points at the end of the week gets a wish granted! ;-)

    ONE HOUR MASSAGE… YESsss!

  8. Lindsay says:

    You are a nerd but wow you’re my kind of nerd. The cool kind! I love words, letters, stationery and Scrabble too!

  9. Lady Ozma says:

    Those are SUPER cute!!!! But I am a Scrabble nerd.

    I so want to make these now. Thanks for sharing!

  10. This is a clever idea. I love Scrabble (Who doesn’t?) Great stocking stuffer for older kids. And thanks for telling people not to destroy Scrabble sets!

  11. i love my iphone scrabble.. but it leaves me with no crafty possibilities like the Real game pieces would!!

  12. What a cute DIY, I love stationary and writing myself, so I definitely will try this! Congrats on being featured on freshly pressed! :)

    http://nataliebrooke.wordpress.com

  13. rtcrita says:

    What a fun way to leave a message for someone on a bulletin board! Cleaver.

  14. rtcrita says:

    Ooops! That was “clever” not “cleaver.” Because that would just be scary, and dangerous…

  15. Love! Brilliant idea. And so true what you said about not ruining a Scrabble set. Thank you for that.

  16. Ovanakungo says:

    Quite cool really.

  17. CrystalSpins says:

    How about Scrabble magnets? I think I’d make much better use of those.

    Crystal
    http://www.crystalspins.com

  18. JamesBrett says:

    this is a great idea, but now my refrigerator is all scratched up and dented.

    wouldn’t it have been easier to use magnets?

  19. Evie Garone says:

    Nice idea, obviously by all the replies! Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

    evelyngarone.com

  20. adamodwyer1 says:

    I love scrabble but I won’t be turning my tiles into push pins, no I never have the letters I need as it is imagine if I lost some to a pin. Really cool looking though if I ever have to buy a new scrabble game for some reason I’ll be transforming my old tiles into pins.

  21. Brilliant idea! I too am a lover of Scrabble and think this is uber geekness at its best!!

    Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

    Drive on,
    – M.

  22. Love this! And love your crafty and eclectic blog :-)

  23. You are clever! this is such a cute idea

  24. Acai says:

    Oh my gosh I just love this idea! Thank so much I am going to make some tonight! How fun!

  25. Bethany says:

    That’s a great idea. We have a lot of Scrabble lovers in our family too. I’m going to try this. :)

  26. Jay says:

    Great idea.

    You can buy 100 Scrabble tiles for $6.50

    http://www.hasbro.com/customer-service/orderform.cfm?sku=4024

  27. duckyinfo says:

    Oh, man! I’m going to do this but with magnets. I’ve got a roll of magnetic tape in the basement I’ve been pondering what to do with. And this is it!

  28. So cool! But now my love for my scrabble set is fighting against my love of making cute crafts…

  29. Genius! That is such a fun idea!

  30. Zoe says:

    that is so amazing!<3
    i wish i was that creative…
    i will definitely try make some,my scrabble is missing some letters anyway.^^
    x

  31. Sunflowerdiva says:

    Great idea! I will definitely try this out–so easy to do! Thanks for sharing!

  32. pltprincess says:

    Super cute!! And easy enough for the kiddos to make as gifts for their teachers.

  33. You are a very creative nerd. Kudos for taking uniquely different stuff and making something totally new. Thanks for sharing!

  34. arrachecoeur says:

    That’s really awesome! Thanks for sharing the idea!

  35. typhoidterri says:

    I am addicted to Scrabble. When I saw “Nomi” I thought of Nomi from Showgirls. I feel like dancing!

  36. […] Scrabble tile push-pins By tina   looking for something to do? how ’bout these scrabble tile push pins?  you can them and a little bit of cute nonsense AQUI. […]

  37. poindextr says:

    is this the cutest idea or what? Um, YES, it is. Thanks for sharing.

  38. […] you can find these scrabble tile push pins and a little bit of nonsense AQUI.   […]

  39. fiona2107 says:

    You are NOT a nerd!
    That’s completely awesome!…..though I expect that eBay will be flooded with scrabble searchers now!

  40. this is such a great gift idea :)

  41. pipisc11 says:

    you gave me a great idea for my wedding,thanks! great idea me n my fiancee love scrabble

  42. This is cute and easy. Congrats on being pressed today.

  43. everythingneat says:

    Congratulations on being featured on Freshly Pressed!
    Love your idea…every office should have a cork board with these. I can just imagine the humourous comments people would make especially if it was hidden in the lunch room.

  44. PamPam says:

    WOW! Congrats Nomi you’re a star x

  45. spidergirl1313 says:

    Hahahaha lol super awesomeness from a fellow nerd xD

  46. Joel aka bro says:

    Ha ha! Yes you are a nerd … but I think I may do it! Front of the blogsite eh! In the words of Yazz “the only way is up”! Miss you loads little sis :)

  47. This is just an amazing idea. So gonna do that as soon as I get home. :D

  48. I love this sooo much, my literary friends will be very happy with their Christmas presents!!

  49. Stephy says:

    love it nomi… just ordered some tiles and magnets so I can put them on our fridge!

    …loving that my sister is a wee bit famous!

    <3

  50. J says:

    This is way to cool! Want beautiful ready to wear dresses? Visit http://www.copperetiquette.com
    http://www.facebook.com/copperetiquette

  51. sayitinasong says:

    This is such a cute idea! I am addicted to my DS scrabble…lol… the instructions seem clear and simple enough for even someone like me (completely challenged in the crafts dept.) to follow…

  52. patch8ie says:

    I love this so much I’m going straight over to ebay~ XD This will make an awesome Christmas present.

  53. cpcolinchau says:

    Very cool!

    P.S. blasphemy isn’t quite used correctly. knowing the word scores points in scrabble, not knowing its meaning well doesn’t help with blogging. =P

  54. Henniie says:

    Nice one! I will actually do this!
    I have already made a collage whit pushpins and a “cork board”, and feel that the pushpins kinda destroys it a bit.
    So tnx ! :D

  55. Penny says:

    super cute idea. if you could get your hands on old typewriter or keyboard keys you could probably do the same – I met a man in NY who makes jewelry with scrabble letters and typewriter keys… crafts + recycling can have some awesome results. :)

  56. Raphael says:

    I really like these…

  57. […] am i (wanting) to craft? these scrabble tiles DIY push pins. genius! i love love anything scrabble […]

  58. Nice post :), this d-i-y has creativity with lots of patience !! It will keep my little sister busy for some time. Me, I ll play scrabble meanwhile!!

  59. you know they make scrabble cheese-its now?

    probably the best invention ever.

  60. antiqueshoes says:

    these are too cute! haha
    how much do these tiles cost? I would not dream of ruining a scrabble set ( i love the game too much myself!)

  61. pokerbot says:

    wierd points and I love the post however what about the ugly problem of collusion in online poker?

  62. […] The busiest day of the year was October 26th with 1,548 views. The most popular post that day was Scrabble tile push-pins (DIY). […]

  63. lyndsayloves says:

    I saw these months ago and absolutely loved them. I’ve just made some myself, thanks for the great idea!

  64. […] came a cross this great idea months ago on a little bit of nonsense blog and I’ve finally gotten around to creating these Scrabble Push Pins […]

  65. […] Las chinchetas de la imagen anterior son ideales para, por ejemplo, dejar palabras o mensajes en el corcho. Para llevarlas a cabo han utilizado fichas del juego de mesa Scrabble. Podéis ver los detalles en A Little Bit of Nonsense. […]

Leave a Reply

