Student decor (DIY)

As you know, I’m a student.  This year I am living in a house with two friends, but we don’t have much money to decorate or spruce the place up.  So, I made some paper flowers to start off the cheap student decor.  I originally saw this idea on How Does She, but amended it to suit what I have.  It sucks not having most of my craft stash at uni, but I can deal.

1. Cut out different sized circles from newspaper or paper printed with text.  I used pages from a book I got for free but didn’t want (sci-fi…).  Pile them up, largest ones at the bottom.

2.  Sew a few rough stitches through the centre of the pile to hold them all together.  I’m not showing a picture of my sewing because it is shameful.

3.  Paint the topside of the ‘flower’.  I used watercolours so it wouldn’t be too heavy and so the words were still visible.

4.  Dry off with a hairdryer (my heat gun is at home) and let the edges curl up.

5.  Shuffle the layers around a bit to show some unpainted sections and ruffle the edges for a raw-ish kind of look.

6.  Pin it up to brighten up your student house.

7.  Make six hundred more.

I also painted some in block colours which is just as effective.

We can’t repaint or anything like that because we are renting this house, but any ideas on inexpensive and unobtrusive home decoration are very welcome; I have a lot more to do before I’m happy with the place!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Student decor (DIY)

  1. Cute craft..love the colours! Hmm, some good websites for inspiration would be designsponge.com, and apartmenttherapy.com :)

Leave a Reply

