Family history.

I feel very sophisticated; today I attended a ‘book reading and wine afternoon’.  Oh yes.

The book readings were excellent and I came away very inspired.  Since I started university I’ve had next to no time for my own writing and reading; I have so much to do for my course.  But I left the building (after my free wine) wanting to write something new about something old.  Does that make sense?

When I’m home at Easter I want to talk to my dad’s parents about the family farm (now owned and loved by my parents), how long its been owned by the family name and how it came to be ours.  I want to know all the tiny details, people’s names, dates, births, deaths, marriages, animals that have been bred on our land, trades and skills that have been practiced there.  I’m really hoping they know all this kind of stuff.  It just hit me in that seminar how important it is to know these things before it’s too late and the information gets lost.

Maybe one day I’ll get around to writing about it.

[I took this photo the day my parents, siblings and I moved to live on the farm – August 18th, 2006.  It is one of the fields out the back of the farm]

Tagged

One thought on “Family history.

  1. Pamela says:

    I love this photo and we’ll be glad to help with all the old stuff if we can. Granda T will love it!

Leave a Reply

